BOARD OF DIRECTORS SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER DISTRICT

RESOLUTION NO. 18-

REQUESTING AND CONSENTING TO CONSOLIDATION OF ELECTION

WHEREAS, a Biennial District General Election has been ordered to be held on Tuesday, November 6, 2018, in the Santa Clara Valley Water District of Santa Clara County for the purpose of electing four (4) Directors of the Board of Directors of the District - Director, District 1 - Four Year Term; Director, District 4 - Four Year Term; Director, District 6 - Four Year Term; Director, District 7 - Four Year Term; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Part 3 (commencing with Section 10400) of the Elections Code, such election may be either completely or partially consolidated.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Directors of the Santa Clara Valley Water District:

Section 1. That the Board of Directors of the Santa Clara Valley Water District calls for an election to be held on November 6, 2018, and requests the Board of Supervisors of Santa Clara County to completely consolidate the election with the statewide election.

Section 2. That the Board of Directors of the Santa Clara Valley Water District requests the Board of Supervisors of Santa Clara County to hold and conduct the election in the manner prescribed in Section 10418 of the Elections Code of the State of California and to further provide that the Registrar of Voters canvass the returns of the election.

Section 3. That pursuant to Section 10508 of the Elections Code of the State of California, said officers are to be elected by division:

Section 4. That the divisions from which said directors are to be elected, and the number of offices to be filled from each, are:

DIVISION NUMBER OF OFFICES

District 1 (Full-Term Election)	One Director
District 4 (Full-Term Election)	One Director
District 6 (Full-Term Election)	One Director
District 7 (Full-Term Election)	One Director

Section 5. That pursuant to Section 10514 of the Elections Code of the State of California, the qualifications for election to said offices, as prescribed by the principle act, are:

- 1. One Director shall be elected by the voters of each electoral district; and
- 2. A candidate for the Board of Directors shall be a resident in the electoral district for which he or she is a candidate; and

Attachment 1 RL14253

3. A director shall continue to reside within the electoral district during his or her term of office, except that no change in boundaries of an electoral district shall affect the term of office of any incumbent director.

Section 6. That pursuant to Sections 10001 and 10520 of the Elections Code of the State of California, each district involved in a district general election in an affected county shall reimburse the county for the actual costs incurred by the county elections official in conducting the district general election for the district.

Section 7. That the candidates' statements of qualification shall be limited to 200 words; that the cost of printing, translating and distributing said statements shall be borne by the candidates who file such statements, and that each candidate who files such statement shall be required to pay in advance his or her pro rata share of the estimated costs to be determined by the Registrar of Voters.

Section 8. That pursuant to Section 10522 of the Elections Code of the State of California, a current map showing the boundaries of the district and the boundaries of the divisions of the district was previously provided to the Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters office.

Section 9. That pursuant to Sections 10551 and 15651 of the Elections Code of the State of California, the method of determining the winner or winners in the event of a tie vote shall be by lot.

Section 10. That the names of all current Board Members and date each term ends are:

John L. Varela, Director, District 1; Term expires December 2018

Barbara F. Keegan, Director, District 2; Term expires December 2020

Richard P. Santos, Director, District 3; Term expires December 2020

Linda J. LeZotte, Director, District 4; Term expires on December 2018

Nai Hsueh, Director, District 5; Term expires December 2020

Tony Estremera, Director, District 6; Term expires December 2018

Gary Kremen, Director, District 7; Term expires December 2018

Attachment 1 RL14253

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Directors of Santa Clara Valley Water District by the following vote on June 12, 2018:				
AYES:	Directors			
NOES:	Directors			
ABSENT:	Directors			
ABSTAIN:	Directors			
		SAN	TA CLARA VALLEY WATER DISTRICT	
		By:		
		·	RICHARD P. SANTOS Chair/Board of Directors	
ATTEST: MICHELE L. KING, CMC				
0 /5				
Hark/Roard	1 of Directors			

RL14253 Attachment 1

THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK