2020 Election Preliminary Results

(As of November 16, 2020)

Federal Contests

Federal Elected Office *			
U.S. Representative District 17	Ro Khanna (D)	Re-elected incumbent	
U.S. Representative District 18	Anna G. Eshoo (D)	Re-elected incumbent	
U.S. Representative District 19	Zoe Lofgren (D)	Re-elected incumbent	
U.S. Representative District 20	Jimmy Panetta (D)	Re-elected incumbent	

State Contests

State Elected Office *			
Senate District 13	Josh Becker (D-Menlo Park)	Newly elected	
Senate District 15	Dave Cortese (D-San Jose)	Newly elected	
Senate District 17	John Laird (D-Santa Cruz)	Newly elected	
Assembly District 24	Marc Berman (D-Menlo Park)	Re-elected incumbent	
Assembly District 25	Alex Lee (D-San Jose)	Newly elected	
Assembly District 27	Ash Kalra (D-San Jose)	Re-elected incumbent	
Assembly District 28	Evan Low (D-Campbell)	Re-elected incumbent	
Assembly District 29	Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley)	Re-elected incumbent	
Assembly District 30	Robert Rivas (D-Hollister)	Re-elected incumbent	

State Ballot Measure *			
Proposition 15 – Commercial	Increases funding sources for K-12 public schools,	Failed (52% No)	
and Industrial Property Tax	community colleges, and local governments by		
Assessment Constitutional	requiring commercial and industrial real property		
Amendment.	be taxed based on current market value, instead		
	of purchase price.		
Proposition 16 – Government	Permits government decision-making policies to	Failed (57.1%	
Preferences.	consider race, sex, color, ethnicity, or national	No)	
	origin to address diversity by repealing article I,		
	section 31, of the California Constitution, which		
	was added by Proposition 209 in 1996.		

^{*}The above State and Federal results are Semi-Final until the California Secretary of State certifies results on December 11, 2020.

Local Contests

Santa Clara County Elected Office ****			
County Supervisor – District 2	Cindy Chavez	Re-elected Incumbent	
County Supervisor – District 3	Otto Lee	Newly elected	
County Supervisor – District 5	Joe Simitian	Re-elected Incumbent	

County Measures ****			
Measure S - Santa Clara Valley Water District – Parcel Tax.	Continues an existing property tax to raise approximately \$45.5 million each year for Santa Clara Valley Water District's (Valley Water's) Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program by charging property owners about three-fifths of a cent per square foot of parcel.	Passed (75.05% Yes; 2/3 required)	
Measure T – Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority – Parcel Tax.	Continues an existing tax of \$24 per parcel for property within the jurisdiction of the Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority. The original parcel tax, passed as Measure Q in 2014, expires in 2029. This measure removes that sunset date and continues the parcel tax until voters decide to change or repeal it. The Authority projects that the tax will continue to raise roughly \$8 million annually.	Passed (81.36% Yes; 2/3 required)	

Municipal Elected Office ****			
Councilmember	Susan M. Landry	City of Campbell	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Sergio Lopez	City of Campbell	Newly elected
Councilmember	Hung Wei	City of Cupertino	Newly elected
Councilmember	Kitty Moore	City of Cupertino	Newly elected
Mayor	Marie Blankley	City of Gilroy	Newly elected**
Councilmember	Zach Hilton	City of Gilroy	Newly elected
Councilmember	Fred M. Tovar	City of Gilroy	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Rebeca Armendariz	City of Gilroy	Newly elected
Councilmember	Sally Meadows	City of Los Altos	Newly elected
Councilmember	Lynette Lee Eng	City of Los Altos	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Jonathan D. Weinberg	City of Los Altos	Newly elected
Councilmember	Linda G. Swan	Town of Los Altos Hills	Newly elected
Councilmember	Stanley Q. Mok	Town of Los Altos Hills	Newly elected
Councilmember	Lisa H. Schmidt	Town of Los Altos Hills	Newly elected
Councilmember	Maria Ristow	Town of Los Gatos	Newly elected
Councilmember	Matthew Hudes	Town of Los Gatos	Newly elected
Councilmember	Mary Badame	Town of Los Gatos	Newly elected
Mayor	Rich Tran	City of Milpitas	Re-elected incumbent

Councilmember	Anthony Phan	City of Milpitas	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Evelyn Chua	City of Milpitas	Newly elected
Councilmember	Rowena Turner	City of Monte Sereno	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Bryan Mekechuk	City of Monte Sereno	Newly elected
Mayor	Rich Constantine	City of Morgan Hill	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Gino Borgioli	City of Morgan Hill	Newly elected
Councilmember	Rene Angelo Spring	City of Morgan Hill	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Margaret Abe-Koga	City of Mountain View	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Sally J. Lieber	City of Mountain View	Newly elected
Councilmember	Lisa Matichak	City of Mountain View	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Pat Showalter	City of Mountain View	Re-elected***
Councilmember	Patrick Burt	City of Palo Alto	Newly elected
Councilmember	Lydia Kou	City of Palo Alto	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Greg Lin Tanaka	City of Palo Alto	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Greer Stone	City of Palo Alto	Newly elected
Councilmember	David Cohen	City of San José	Newly elected
Councilmember	Devora "Dev" Davis	City of San José	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Sergio Jimenez	City of San José	Re-elected incumbent
			(March)
Councilmember	Sylvia Arenas	City of San José	Re-elected incumbent
			(March)
Councilmember	Matt Mahan	City of San José	Newly elected
			(March)
Councilmember	Kathy Watanabe	City of Santa Clara	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Kevin Nara Park	City of Santa Clara	Newly elected
Councilmember	Suds Jain	City of Santa Clara	Newly elected
Councilmember	Anthony J. Becker	City of Santa Clara	Newly elected
Councilmember	Tina Walia	City of Saratoga	Newly elected
Councilmember	Kookie Fitzsimmons	City of Saratoga	Newly elected
Mayor	Larry Klein	City of Sunnyvale	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Alysa Cisneros	City of Sunnyvale	Newly elected
Councilmember	Russ Melton	City of Sunnyvale	Re-elected incumbent
Councilmember	Omar Din	City of Sunnyvale	Newly elected

^{**} Marie Blankley was Mayor Pro Tempore previously.

^{***} Pat Showalter was elected to Mountain View City Council in 2015. She lost her bid for re-election in 2018 and was elected again in 2020.

^{****} The above local results are Semi-Final until the Registrar of Voters certifies the results on December 3, 2020.