

File No.: 20-0002

Agenda Date: 1/14/2020 Item No.: 3.4.

BOARD AGENDA MEMORANDUM

SUBJECT:

Membership Nominations for Committee Re-Appointments to the Environmental and Water Resources Committee (EWRC), for Committee Appointment to the Safe, Clean Water Independent Monitoring Committee (SCW IMC), and adopt Resolutions Expressing Appreciation for outgoing SCW IMC Members.

RECOMMENDATION:

- A. Consider re-appointments to the EWRC;
- B. Consider two-year membership appointment to the SCW IMC; and
- C. Adopt the resolutions EXPRESSING APPRECIATION to outgoing SCW IMC members.

SUMMARY:

In accordance with Board Governance Process Policy - 8, Board Committees are established to assist the Board with policy advice, District Mission implementation, respective expertise, and, very importantly, to help produce the link between the District and the community.

The table below contains committee member nominations submitted for Board appointment consideration in accordance with Board Resolution 15-28, Providing for and Defining the Structure and Function of Board Committees (Attachment 1).

At the November 12, 2013, Board meeting, the Board adopted Resolution 13-61, creating a 15member Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee of the Santa Clara Valley Water District (Attachment 3).

Each Director is allotted two committee member nominations for appointment consideration; one committee member to serve a three-year term, and one committee member to serve a two-year term. The Board Chair is allotted one additional committee member nomination for a one-year term that coincides with the Board Chair term.

Stated below, for Board consideration, is the individual Director committee nomination and the identified term of service. Application for Mr. Jason Baker is included as Attachment 2.

Applicant Name	Nominating Director	Nomination (2-year term)	Membership Category	Board Action: New Appointment
Elizabeth Sarmiento	Director Keegan	Environmental and Water Resources Committee	District 2	Re-Appointment
Hon. Dean Chu Rev. Jethroe Moore, II	Director Santos	Environmental and Water Resources Committee	District 3	Re-Appointment
Jason Baker	Director LeZotte	Safe, Clean Water Independent Monitoring Committee	District 4	New Appointment

Resolutions expressing appreciation are presented for Board adoption recognizing those committee members leaving service who regularly attended one-hundred (100) percent of scheduled meetings.

Committee Member	Committee	Membership Category/ District
Ms. Julie Hutcheson Mr. Doug Muirhead	Safe, Clean Water IMC	Representing District 1
Hon. Virginia Holtz	Safe, Clean Water IMC	Representing District 4

FINANCIAL IMPACT:

There is no financial impact for appointing committee members. The funds associated with developing and mailing Resolutions of Appreciation are budgeted in the Office of the Clerk of the Board for Fiscal Year 2020.

CEQA:

The recommended action does not constitute a project under CEQA because it does not have a potential for resulting in direct or reasonable foreseeable indirect physical change in the environment.

ATTACHMENTS:

Attachment 1: SCVWD Resolution 15-28 Attachment 2: Membership Application, J. Baker Attachment 3: SCVWD Resolution No. 13-61 Attachment 4: Resolutions

UNCLASSIFIED MANAGER:

Michele King, 408-630-2711